Dishing Up Local!

At The Abbey we know the importance of community.

We are working with farmers and businesses to bring local produce and products to your tables. Spending our money locally helps enrich the local economy. Fresh, local food delivers enhanced nutrition to you and your children. Dishing up local just makes sense!

The Abbey Group is Dishing Up Local in all we do!

Photo of Georgia Mountain Maples

Featured Local Connection

Georgia Mountain Maples

Georgia Mountain Maples (GMM) is owned by the Harrison Family who also owns and operates Harrison Concrete & Redi-mix in Georgia, Vermont. GMM was formed in 2011 for the unusual reason to keep idle concrete workers busy in the winter and spring months. It is quickly growing to become the largest producer of maple syrup in Vermont, touting the most high-tech syrup producing equipment on the market. Even though the Harrison's have only been in the syrup business for two years, they are already producing some of the best syrup in the industry and have even now won awards for quality. Last spring we teamed up with Georgia Mountain Maples and committed to using real maple syrup for at least one dish a day for a maple week in all of our accounts, going through nearly 100 gallons of syrup!

  • Photo of an farmer in his field
  • Photo of Scott with apples
  • Photo of local food at Kindle Farm School
  • Photo of produce from Woods Market
  • Photo of kids husking corn for lunch

Money Spent Locally

The Abbey Group makes a point of keeping money in our local community. This chart demonstrates our commitment to both our local economies, and our commitment to the regional economy.

Chart Illustration Money Spent Locally
  • 05% Direct Local Farm Purchases
  • 15% New England Purchases/Food
  • 20% New England Purchases/Milk
  • 35% National Purchases/Food
  • 13% Miscellaneous (local) Purchases/Food
  • 12% Non-Food Purchases

Local Farms and Businesses

The following is a list of local Farms and Businesses that are helping The Abbey Group Dish Up Local!

Sort list by farm/business name, town, state, or website by clicking the column header.

Local Farm/Business Town State Website
Alec’s Spicy Pretzels Williston VT www.alecsspicypretzels.com
Allan Hall Apple Orchards Isle La Motte VT  
Apple Barn Bennington VT www.theapplebarn.com
B&D Potatoes Wolcott VT  
Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream Waterbury VT www.benjerry.com
Berry Creek Farm Westfield VT www.berrycreekfarmvt.com
Blue Heron Farm Grand Isle VT www.blueheronfarm-vt.blogspot.com
Boardman Hill Farm Rutland VT www.boardmanhillfarm.com
Boyden Farm Cambridge VT www.boydenfarm.com
Brannon Family Maple Bakersfield VT www.branonmaple.com
Brault’s Meat Market Troy VT  
Brown Boar Farm Wells VT www.brownboarfarm.com
Brown’s Orchard Farm Stand Castleton VT  
Champlain Orchards Shoreham VT www.champlainorchards.com
Cabot Creamery Montpelier VT www.cabotcheese.coop
Chappelle’s VT Potatoes Williamstown VT  
Clarendon School Garden N. Clarendon VT  
Clear Brook Farm Shaftsbury VT www.clearbrookfarm.com
Darby Farm Alburgh VT www.darbyfarm.com
Deep Meadow Farm N Westminster VT www.deepmeadowfarm.net
Donabedian Bros. Inc. Salem NH  
Dutton Berry Farm Newfane VT www.duttonberryfarm.com
Fertile Fields Farm Westmoreland NH www.fertilefieldsfarm.com
Food Works At Two Rivers Montpelier VT www.foodworksvermont.org
Garvey Farms St. Albans VT  
Grabowski Family Farm West Rutland VT  
Grafton Village Cheese Brattleboro VT www.graftonvillagecheese.com
Graze and Gaze Farm Barre VT www.grazeandgaze.com
Green Heron Farm Richford VT  
Green Mountain Coffee Waterbury VT www.greenmountaincoffee.com
Green Mountain Farm to School Newport VT www.greenmountainfarmtoschool.org
Green Mountain Orchards Putney VT www.greenmtorchards.com
Green's Sugar House Poultney VT www.greenssugarhouse.com
Hackett’s Orchard South Hero VT www.hackettsorchard.com
Harlow’s Sugar House Putney VT  
Hartman’s Farmstand Enosburg Falls VT  
High Meadow Farm Putney VT  
HomeFree LLC Windham NH  
Hudak Farm Swanton VT www.hudakfarm.com
Intervale Center Burlington VT www.intervale.org
Jay Denault Franklin VT  
Joe Mintrone Bennington VT  
Johnson’s Highland View Windham NH  
Kindle Farm Newfane VT www.kindlefarm.org
King Arthur Flour Norwich VT www.kingarthurflour.com
Kingdom Mt. Maple Westfield VT  
Koffee Kup Bakery Burlington VT www.koffeekupbakery.biz
Lakeside Berry Farm East Alburgh VT www.lakesideberryfarm.com
Lewis Creek Farm Starksboro VT  
Littlewood Farm Plainfield VT www.littlewoodfarm.org
Maple Brook Farm Bennington VT  
Maplewood Organics Highgate VT  
Mario Mazzola N. Bennington VT  
Monument Farms Dairy Weybridge VT  
Picadilly Farm Winchester NH www.picadillyfarm.com
Sam Mazza’s Farm Market Colchester VT www.sammazzafarms.com
Michael Halliday Forestdale VT  
Misty Knoll Farms New Haven VT www.mistyknollfarms.com
Moose Hill Orchards Londonderry NH  
Moses Farm Eagle Bridge NY  
Nutty Steph’s Middlesex VT www.nuttystephs.com
OCHS Family Orwell VT  
Old Athens Farm Putney VT www.oldathensfarm.com
Pet’s Green Inc. Craftsbury VT  
Pomykala Farm Grand Isle VT  
Rosie’s Snacks Inc. Swanton VT www.rosiesjerky.com
Russell Farm Rutland VT  
Screamin’ Ridge Farm Montpelier VT www.screaminridgefarm.com
Sentinel Pine Orchard Shoreham VT www.sentinelpineorchard.com
Shadow Cross Farm Colchester VT  
Shawn Thygesen So. Barre VT  
Sunrise Orchards Middlebury VT www.sunriseorchards.com
Terry Bergeron Garden Sheldon VT  
True Love Farm N. Bennington VT  
Upper Valley Produce Stowe VT www.uppervalleyproduce.com
Valley Dream Farm Cambridge VT www.valleydreamfarm.com
Vermont’s Finest S. Burlington VT  
Vermont Soy LLC Hardwick VT www.vermontsoy.com
Vermont Hydroponic Florence VT www.vermonthydroponic.com
Vermont Pure Spring Water Forestdale MA  
Walker Farm E. Dummerston VT www.walkerfarm.com
Wallingford School Garden Wallingford VT  
Westminster Crackers Rutland VT www.westminstercrackers.com
Westminster Organics Westminster VT  
Windham Farm & Food Brattleboro VT  
Whippoorwill Farm Jamaica VT  

If you are a local farm or business and are interested in helping The Abbey Groups Dishing Up Local! efforts contact us today!

Dishing Up Local!

Our food comes from farms in your neighborhood, supplying us with locally grown and produced goods.

Your School!

The Abbey Group in your school! Your Menu, Lunch PrePay, and Food Service Policies, it's all here.

Going Green!

We support school's efforts to "go green" and are focused on creating sustainable food service programs.

Nutrition!

The Abbey Group provides nutritious and affordable meals for young, learning minds.